Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

13 died

11.02.2005::9:45 p.m.

12 people died over the weekend and one died on moday and all vied for our services. My cowroker had the day off, and we have no receptionist, and it's only my 4th week and I'm still learning the ropes. It was a crazy day. I mean CRAZY. the phone literally didn't stop ringing. I can tell that I have a great manager, because she pulled %500 her weight in work, and never got outwardly frustrated with/at me, though I was like a lame bunny. Wow. I didn't get to eat lunch and I worked A 12 hour day. Then after that, I went to visit my 90 yr old Aunt Mary who fell over the weekend and is in the hospital a skip away from my work. More on that in a later post.

To backtrack a little, I got a sharp headache on Sunday suddenly, just on my left side, and mostly I think it was out of frustration of some kind, I rarely get headaches, and this was a bummer of one. I help my acupressure point for pain and it helped, but I cried.

I could feel that I was emotionally and mentally exhausted from the pace of going to work adn school non-stop, as well as the concentrated reflections I've been having due to the nature of my work. Crying was good, it released a lot of tied up energy and basic human emotion regarding existence. What am I talking about????? Well, day after day I type out death certificates and the causes of death of person after person. By far the most popular, or most common is: "effects of chronic ethanolism." Whoops, alcoholism anyone....

People are sad. Actively sad. There are a lot of sad people out there.

Anyway, it is really interesting to be privvy to such intimate details of so many people. I've had to also be really "ON" and retail lots of new information and so my brain is a bit fried. I feel that I should be excelling faster than I am at my job, but my manager said I'm doing fine.

In other news, today was my first of three days in hospice massage training. I got three days off to do it, and I am learning stuff, but mostly I feel bad for the woman teaching it. She's 60 and she's gorgeous, but it is apparent that she is kind of slipping. She's spent half of her life now teaching this work, and mostly she'd been a volunteer, getting grants and the like to get by. That won't cut the mustard anymore, but what assests does she have to relax baxk upon. None. Well, none financially. She has a reputation in a field, but she's tired. These are things I've observed, not that she's said. But I can tell.

She's a scrapper. A tired scrapper. I wish I could scopp her up, and shower her with comfort. She has helped so many people. And she's a scrapper.

I'm not making sense I'm sure. I'm tired again, though not as tired as I have been. I've been drinking home-made green smoothies...loaded with very fresh greens, not just juices, and I can tell a difference in my energy levels and general health.

Signing off. I wanted to post something new, so you all wouldn't be bored, but I'm not sure this helps!