Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

Heffalump

04.17.2006::8:00 p.m.

I�m feeling frustrated right now. Since I�m probably PMSing it�s an amplified frustration. Not so much that I�m banging my head against a wall, although at times it does indeed feel that way, but more like Winnie-the-Pooh�s Heffalump fiasco. If you will recall, Pooh, and his meek companion Piglet find themselves tracking or being pursued by a Heffalump, it�s not quite clear what is the case. For those of you out of touch with your childhood stories, Pooh couldn�t remember the name �elephant� which is surely from where the name Heffalump derives its name. So, to begin with, I am either chasing or being followed by a non-existant monster. Since I a m in a place of unawares, the pursuit and th efleeing are quite real. I walk through a foggy bog, unbeknownst to myself, in a circle. By the by I notice more and more Heffalump tracks, a sure sign of imminent danger to myself, and I am hypnotized in fear, unable to escape this scarey, foggy bog populated by Cassie-eating Heffalumps. It is my own circling which create the trackprints, but how am I to know this, unable to see the landscape through the mist.

In the Pooh story, he and Piglet set out to trap a Heffalump. They spent quite a bit of energy devising one, which in fact, catches them.

What does all imply? Simply that I am obviously spending way too much energy and time and imagination upon the monster obstacles chasing me that don�t exist, and spend my creativity attempting to trap them, rather than expressing myself, only to be trapped by my own fear.

Someone please send a lifeline.