Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

I dream of earthquakes

10.02.2005::8:14 a.m.

Dream this morning:

Restless morning after waking from a dream of a massive earthquake. I was in a house at the time, my house, but not the one I live in in waking terms physically. I was on the telephone and the caller was a man, but I don't think that I knew him, I didn't recognize him as anyone I know. The quake hit at the early part of our conversation and for some reason I felt safer staying on the phone with him during this. For one thing, I didn't think it would be a long quake but it turned out to be quite long. In fact I looked at a digital clock to keep track of how long we were talking. I don't remember how long it was, but it was certainly over a minute. (it so happens that the longest lasting known earthquake was five minutes long).

Here's the thing: As I was on the phone with this stranger during the earthquake, the house I was in fell. That is the foundation, the bottom floor buckled and collapsed. I was frightened as it happened, but there wasn't anything I could do but stay still, and hope.

My house collapsed. The foundation collapsed, broke down.

CW wasn't around, in fact I don't recall her being in my consciousness during the dream, she wasn't a concern. It was a very realitic dream in a way.

I hung up the phone and made my way outside, and to my parents' house. Everything was bustling. There was a lot of destruction. My house was destroyed, and I couldn't go back to living in it. I had to move, but to where?

When I got to my parents they were bustling. I don't recall that they had any damage to their house, but they were in the middle of packing up, nonetheless. They had lots of stuff prepared for such an emergency (my dad is a retired fire fighter and tends to be prepared for such things). I like the idea of being prepared, but I haven't gotten all of my stuff together (in waking life). Aparently in my dream zone I hadn't stuff together either.

I was a bit dazed, in shock. My parents' were rushing around, but in an excited way, like they were preparing to go and move anyway, and this was just motivation, they were jovial. I felt that they weren't concerned enough for me, though they were helping me to pack up what I had into my '62 volvo. Inez's (my dead friend) husband Alfonso was putting my bicycles on the top of my car on a rack. He was putting one up there that wasn't mine, not leaving room for my very expensive bike. I said so, and so he took the cheap one, not mine, down.

I was in disbelief. I had no idea where I would go to. My parents seemed to already have their destination planned. I asked them where I should go, New Mexico? They said "sure!" but they really hadn't given it consideration.

****

All I know is that when I woke up I knew what it meant. Things aren't so good with CW and we're getting over our fight, but there's something it feels like can't be fixed, something revealed, invisibly, that we both know but won't say. In our real house, the back wall is pulling apart from the house. An engineer came over and said, your house is rolling back on itself.

This isn't good. One strong earthquake and I think that wall could detach from the house, really.

The house beneath me is collapsing, and I don't know where to go.