Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

Not weirder than you

02.05.2006::2:00 p.m.

more weirdness?

Zuzu says I've missed the half of my weirdness, citing these things (I'm only including the true parts):

Eating barnacles. I was in Spain, after walking the 500 mile pilgrimage. I took the bus to Finesterre, which in Christopher Columbus' day was known as the end of the world, the world being flat and all. Finesterre is a sweet tiny coastal town. I found a local bar which was pretty cool given my taste of rustic places. Run by a 30ish man, native to Finesterre, his childhood friends would meet there when not working or sleeping. Nice thick old wood bar and same for the indivudual tables. A great place to drink some wine and write in one's journal. And so I did. I really spoke very little Spanish, and this being a small town, the known English could fit in a teacup, nevertheless four men, my contemporaries, waved me to their table and asked me to stay to share in their dinner. Sure. Dinner was fresh nabbed barnacles by one of the men. Barnacles area delicacy and he was quite proud that he had delivered this bootie to show off to the new girl tourist in town. Barnacle meat looks like puppy penises, they just do. Zuzu thought this was weird, me eating them....

Then there's the case of spending $70 on a purple gemstone called sugilite. This wasn't some dime sized rock mind you, but the size of a lime, and I don't know why this is weird simply because people buy much smaller stones for gobs more. This incident inspired Zuzu's parents to paint rocks purple in hopes of selling them to me.

You'll have to ask Zuzu about the Marizipan chicken thing, because I don't remember. In fact, I probably wanted to forget it, whatever it is.