Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

5 weird things

02.04.2006::9:23 a.m.

Hmmm. Five weird things that I do. I don't think that I do weird things, I mean, I'm sure most people do much weirder things such that mine pale in their wake. I probably ought to have Zuzu list the five things as she knows them better than I do. I don't think I have a clear perception of myself in the wide focus as she does. I think that I can't see my forest for my trees, if that makes sense. If I cared, I might feel sad that I don't do anything weird.

Ok, number 1. My job is weird. Does this qualify? I am a funeral counselor, and frankly, this seems weird. It is a weird job. Death is in my mind and in my face everyday. I see dead people, really. I missed out seeing a guy who had been found in the bay. I was out sick Thursday and I missed it. I dress dead people and glue their mouths shut to be viewed by their families. But what might be more weird, is that for several hours a week I spend a concentrated time in a room with people who are reeling from grief of a deceased loved one, and I like it. I love meeting new people and in a deep way, and I get to do so in this work. I get to know them, and even their person rather intimately. Maybe not with material details but I am in their aura for an hour with many dimensions of emotions swirling around. People can be at their best or their worst. Sometimes so distraught that they are barely sane and I guide and nudge them like a tender tugboat through the rocky waters of the business of death.


2. I don't know that this qualifies but I think my cat is my soul mate. Is this something that I do? Her comfort takes precedence over my partner's. My cat, Stella, sleeps tucked in my armpit, though recently she's taken to coming under the covers and sleeping directly on my chest, splayed out and her little head on my clavical. It's true love, and sometimes I feel badly for CW as I'd rather be cozy with Stella than spoon her. Ah well. Weird and sad.

3. I don't tell people what I really believe. Not that I tell people what I don't believe, I just keep my mouth shut. Maybe Zuzu. Sometimes I try, to share what I can with my sister or my mother. I don't know if this is weird either, it seems so average, so normal. I don't really tell people what is the most meaningful to me. Perhaps because it's too far out that I don't feel like justifying anything.

4. I procrastinate. This certainly doesn't appear weird, but if you knew me, you'd know it is weird. I procrastinate on my biggest dreams and trajectories. At times I can be so decisive and confident, and then for years at a time, I am cosmic mush.

Last one...I've decided to leave this one blank for Zuzu to fill in.