Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

Neptune Journey

09.23.2005::10:20 a.m.

It's likely that this is the first of two entries today. This one is about my interview yesterday at the Neptune Society.

I arrive to an empty reception area. Many times that I've been to this place, she's been away for the day. It's a quiet place. I like it. The San Francisco Columbarium is located here, and in fact it was only recently that the Neptune Society secured their stewardship of this historical landmark. There are pictures of the turn of the century when the surrounding acres are a cemetary, where there are now houses back to back.

I ring a little bell at the reception desk, wherein Mary, a salesperson I met last year (when I was settling Alice's cremation), greeted me. I think she's a lesbian...the approaching midlife kind who can't really look like she's one because of the broad population she serves. Anyway, I can tell she likes me in a way. She reminds me of Susan, brief g/f of years ago. Not enough for me to dislike her, just enough to recognize an air of sadness and a minor desperation of loneliness of some kind.

Anyway, she remembered my name and we exchanged minor chat as she shuttled me to a room to wait for Carey, my interviwer and Branch Director. The door opened, but it was another woman,Noel, my age, who actually helped me with Alice's arrangements last year. She recognized me to, I greeted her by her name (same as a highschool mate of mine), and we laughed at the familiarity she had of my name when she'd seen my resume, but couldn't place me.

I filled out an application that she'd handed to me and waited for Carey. Eventually she did, with my resume in hand. The strange thing about it all, was that she didn't ask me any questions. She didn't ask me why I wanted to work there, she didn't even really engage me in commenting on why I might be interested or qualified relative to my social work. I hadn't written an extensive cover letter like I had for all other resumes I've sent out, so she really had no reason to know why I'd want to work there.

I offered reasons. She said everything looked good, that they do a background check and that they'd be calling me for a second interview, that they take two weeks to look at applications.

I left, and felt dissatisfied a bit. I wondered why she didn't ask me any questions. My inclination is to think that they already are pleased with my experience as a social worker and that Mary and Noel like my demeanor. So far, they are the organization that contacted me teh quickest, two hours after submitting my resume via email.

So, I'd say it looks good for me. It'll be nice to be working again, mostly for the income. I've now found classes that I want to take to be trained for professional hospice touch/massage work, and I have to work the schedule conflicts out. Ah well.

Here's an interesting page regarding the mythology of Neptune. What I find interesting is that the symbol of Neptune looks like a satellite dish...a tool with which to receive messages from "out there."

Neptune the planet is related to dreams. As I was looking up this information I came across this information about the God of Dreams, Morpheus. The interesting thing to me is that he is surrounded by poppies...which brings me back to teh dream I had the other night where I drank a beverage with lots of poppy seeds in it...hmmmmmmmmm:

The Greek god of dreams. He lies on a ebony bed in a dim-lit cave, surrounded by poppy. He appears to humans in their dreams in the shape of a man. He is responsible for shaping dreams, or giving shape to the beings which inhabit dreams. Morpheus, known from Ovid's Metamorphoses, plays no part in Greek mythology. His name means "he who forms, or molds" (from the Greek morphe), and is mentioned as the son of Hypnos, the god of sleep. 'Morphine' is derived from his name.