Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

OM and Uri

12.20.2005::10:26 p.m.

This is my most recent mosaic. The only thing that I don't like about it, is that I couldn't give it to Zuzu, as I've been meaning to make her one for about two years now. Anyway we *had* to make presents for our holiday family party. We each picked names from a hat. I was exchange with my unlce (who is only a year older than I). I went to Marin, got this rock (for free!) and then spent two long nights after two hard days at work, designing and making it. I mean into the wee hours even.

Once all were sitting around opening gifts, my unlce said to me, "well, you know, we just had this baby and I haven't had any time to make anything. But I had my son (14 yrs old) draw you this picture (just now)."

Now, frankly, my cousin is a fine artist, and of course his abstract drawing is quite nice, but, well, the whole situation seemed pretty lame, especially since it was my unlce's own wife who had the idea that we should make the gifts in the first place. In the second place, this is my unlce who is a billionaire, no kidding, and all he could manage was a last minute sketch from his kid.

I had driven 4 hours from SF to Mariposa to eat white trash food and listen to football games all day and basically, get a lame gift in exchange for what I considered to be a decent effort on my part.

On to other news:

I woke up this morning thinking about Uri Geller, the famous spoon bender. Actually he's quite a mystical personality. I was thinking about buying a book by or about Uri Geller. So I went to his website today and low and behold I spy his bio and when should be his birthday, today. Yup. So you explain to me, just why did I wake up thinking of him, not one about whom I think all that often.

My co-workers laughed and said that he's so psychic and he just put out vibes to the world to come buy his books!

Anyway, I thought it was pretty neat.