Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

outreach and Hedwig

2001.07.24::7:54 a.m.

So many other people's diaries are so interesting and mine seems rather "just stuff." Well it's bound to be that way I guess when I have a paper journal that I keep. That's where most of the juicy stuff is.

So I play little games to keep my intentions stoked. Today I spontaneously began a list of the types of people to whom I can outreach to not only to give Reiki sessions to, but to attune and teach once I get my third attunement (this Sept. 29).

At first I'll practice on friends and family. A gift of Reiki is a pretty neat gift, if people want and use it. It'll help me refine my teaching style too. After that, here is the running list of folks I can spread the word to. I would think that classes specific to these groups would be good, because it would also automatically create a support and practice network. An example is midwives. There are lots of reasons why Reiki would be a natural additional tool in a midwife's bag of resources. I could help them brainstorm about the various ways Reiki can be applied in their practice.

here's what I have so far:

midwives

massage therapists

nurses

pregnant women and partners

parents, especially those with children who have special needs

people recovering from addictions

teachers (especially of young kids, or in classes where there are children with special needs)

gardeners

adults who feel they have symptoms of ADD

caretakers of any people in need (volunteers, etc)

any persons who identify themselves with having a symptom categorization (cancer, anxiety, fibromyalgia, etc.)

and the list can go on

news flash!

I just got an unsolicited (consciously) email from a woman oriented film festival call for submissions. They are interested in storied involving women and girls that have non-violent conflict resolution in them. That's in a way a story that I've had in my back pocket. It is the story of my grandmother, my mother and myself and the transition of a violent conflict resolution into personal and spiritual development. This is very exciting. How many pages is 7500 words? that's the limit.

other news. i spontaneously went to the movies after work yesterday. I have these free passes to the art movie houses that I have to use up by september. So i went and saw Hedwig not really knowing anything about it. It was no less than totally awesome. I was absolutely touched and inspired and I don't know if there can be anything better than that. It is in my top 10 film list (which is really a top 20 list by now).

go see it.