Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

Hug A Tree

08.28.2006::9:47 p.m.


My advanced hypnotherapy class is almost over, our last meeting is Saturday September 23. I've loved their lending library. Every meeting we are allowed to choose from various sections of their books, videos and audio selections. My favorite books are by or about Milton Erikson, a gentle and wise psychiatrist and psychologist who long after his death has been influencing generations of therapists in the art of gentle and practical therapy, mostly using hypnotic technique with a humanist heart.

A book that I'd highlighted and hoped that I'd get a chance to check out is Nature Guided Therapy, by George W. Burns. I had no idea what it was about, but figured that if it focused on nature, fabulous. I've read the preface, introduction and the bibliography so far, and I love it. Zuzu probably knows that my favorite job, besides being a well paid muse for 3-5 years olds on the one hand, on the other hand my other favorite job would have something to do with nature and healing people in it. Um, probably leading silent group hikes in the woods. Ecopsychotherapy here I come! I would probably never refer to myself as an ecopsychotherapist. I would probably use the term shaman instead. Based upon how I approach healing, that fits me better, but it is such an ego trip these days to say such a thing. What's in a name really. You do something or you don't.

Anyway, this book is about how nature contributes to our human well being. Um, duh. Apparently though, a lot of people don't know this. Or else won't believe it unless someone has done studies about it. The psychologist who wrote it seems like a nice enough fellow and it is apparent that he likes a gentle approach to healing. Bravo. As much as I can't seem to afford anything in my life, I am buying my own copy asap as a personal resource. Anyway, the more people in mainstream psychology who need to read a study in a book in order to believe anything is true, all really need to read this. It'll get more appreciation for nature happening and that can only be a good thing. The point of it all is that nature soothes a person, and actually can measurably help a person heal. A person doesn't even have to be out in nature, but merely recall a favorite place in nature, even as much as a garden.

I do believe that somehow, pulling all of the things that interest me together, I can contribute to the nurturing and celebration of life on the planet. And basically have a good time doing it.

I certainly have my work cut out for me simply practicing within the petrie dish of my own home and partner. I daily use all of what I know about suggestion and hypnosis on CW. I must admit, I am getting really tired of every day being a struggle for her to get to neutral, as if being neutral is the goal. She mostly talks as though that is as good as it can get. I'm sure more is possible.