Indigomonkey
Cosmic Gypsy Mystic

Ute at 2

09.20.2005::8:01 p.m.

Well, my dear friend Ute is two years old as of Sunday (Moon in Aries!). I was in class so couldn't see her, but I brought her a present today, Shel Silverstein's book, Where The Sidewalk Ends.


We then went to the park and had a good time. We were there for about 2 and a half hours, it took her two hours to warm up to being there. Oh sure, being on the swing was fine, but she didn't immediately want to check out what the other kids her age and size range were up to. Twice she sat on my knee, head burried in my shoulder, weeping, out of shyness or something.

But I sat through it, talking with other kids and parents, and eventually she came around and began to play. Like a cat she stretched out on the sand, looking happy. She recognized a girl we'd seen several times over the last few months, and even remembered her name, I was impressed. We met two other kids, both 3+. Justin and Gemma. Justin in his fabulous brilliant innocence asked me if I knew his parents. I told him that I did not. "Oh," he said, "they're nice people." That's the coolest. I wish I could meet his parents and relay the sentiment. It was so objective really. Like a soul who by virtue of our linear timeline has to be a child but is reporting the facts as he is experiencing them. It was such a sweet moment sitting with the four children, we were a little group of being having fun, sharing the sun and the sky, pouring sand in and out of old yogurt cups.

I felt fabulously fulfilled, and I am dumbfounded that a natural mother, or anyone really, wouldn't just feel the same. Thes kids were great. Jessie was the oldest at 4. All were good talkers, but not overly so. Ute was the most quiet, but she became comfortable soon enough as she observed the others while sitting on my knee or of to my left. I don't think she gets out enough to mingle with other kids, otherwise she would basically hit the ground running once at the playground.

I really like hanging out with kids this age, 3-5, I could spend alll day with them. I don't think it's all the same when one works in a daycare or preschool though. But as a guardian or parent of a child it is so easy to sit and truly be with them.